Teacher pay scale 2026/27
Updated 31 Oct 2026 · Reviewed by SchoolJobs
Provisional until the final STPCD is published.
In short
From 1 September 2026, qualified teachers in England outside London earn £34,069 on the first point of the main pay range (M1) and up to £52,835 at the top of the upper pay range (U3). This follows a 3.5% pay award. A further 3% rise is due from 1 September 2027.
Job alerts for teacher jobs
Get new jobs by email as they're posted. Free.
Key facts
- M1 (first point, outside London): £34,069 from 1 September 2026
- U3 (top of upper pay range, outside London): £52,835
- 2026 pay award: 3.5%
- Further rise of 3% due from 1 September 2027
Teacher pay points from 1 September 2026 (rest of England)
| Point | Annual salary | Monthly (before tax) |
|---|---|---|
| M1 | £34,069 | £2,839 |
| M2 | £36,042 | £3,004 |
| M3 | £38,400 | £3,200 |
| M4 | £40,941 | £3,412 |
| M5 | £43,529 | £3,627 |
| M6 | £46,940 | £3,912 |
| U1 | £49,134 | £4,095 |
| U2 | £50,956 | £4,246 |
| U3 | £52,835 | £4,403 |
London has higher rates: see London teacher pay 2026/27.
Leadership pay range from 1 September 2026
| Pay area | Minimum | Maximum |
|---|---|---|
| Rest of England | £53,586 | £148,829 |
| Inner London | £63,709 | £158,863 |
| Outer London | £57,837 | £153,042 |
| Fringe | £55,060 | £150,301 |
Source: STPCD 2026, Table 1. Each school sets its head teacher group and individual pay range within these limits.
What an M1 teacher takes home
A full-time teacher on M1 outside London, paying into the Teachers' Pension and with no student loan, takes home about £26,030 a year, or £2,169 a month. Use the teacher pay calculator for your own point, area, allowances and hours.
Main and upper pay ranges
- Main pay range (M1–M6): where qualified teachers start, including early career teachers.
- Upper pay range (U1–U3): teachers apply to move onto it, usually after several years on M6. Schools set the criteria in their pay policy.
- Most schools move teachers up one point each September, but each school's pay policy decides how.
Do academies use this scale?
Maintained schools must follow the School Teachers' Pay and Conditions Document (STPCD). Academies and free schools can set their own pay, but most follow the national scale or match it closely. Check the advert or ask the school.
Part-time teachers
Part-time teachers are paid the same point, pro rata. A teacher on M3 working 3 days a week (0.6) earns £38,400 × 0.6 = £23,040 a year.
Live jobs and pay right now
From live adverts on SchoolJobs. Pay comes from our salary guide; it's hidden when there isn't enough evidence.
2026/27 advertised pay £33,945 per year – £48,309 per year · midpoint £41,127 per year (based on 56 adverts)Salary guide · Pay calculator
Latest teacher jobs
Pay not stated
Full time
Posted 1 day ago
via Teaching Vacancies
Teacher of English
Aston Manor Academy · Birmingham
£34,069–£52,835 FTE
Full time · Fixed term
Posted 2 days ago
via Teaching Vacancies
Pay not stated
Full time · Permanent
Posted 2 days ago
via Teaching Vacancies
Free pay calculators
Work out actual pay, take-home, pension and maternity pay with 2026/27 figures.
Open the tool →Frequently asked questions
How much does a newly qualified teacher earn in 2026?
Early career teachers usually start on M1: £34,069 outside London, £35,602 in the fringe, £39,196 in outer London and £41,729 in inner London.
When did the 2026 pay rise start?
From 1 September 2026. Schools may pay it later and backdate it.
What is the pay rise for 2027?
A further 3% is due from 1 September 2027.
How do I move from M6 to U1?
You apply to your school, which assesses you against its pay policy criteria.